Show Me The Gold

another

One reason I was excited to go to Vegas, is that I could wear things I have in my closet, that I probably wouldn’t wear out in Columbus. Don’t get me wrong I’m a classic over dresser and am okay with standing out, but there just aren’t many occasions for me to bust out my Italian Heels and vintage Dior jacket. It’s not even just Vegas, I love piecing outfits together for all traveling. My closet has such a wide variety of styles-you couldn’t pin me as preppy, hippie, casual, high-end, vintage, free spirit-I’m really a mix of all elements-so it’s fun to pull different pieces that will fit with the local culture I’m about to walk into. So what better to wear in Vegas, than shiny gold vintage Dior.

IMG_2277

IMG_2273

IMG_2283

IMG_2297

IMG_2293

another2

IMG_2299

Vintage Dior Jacket, Express Top, Cache Pants, Josephine Shoes, Rebecca Minkoff Fling Print Clutch

(^Shoes linked are same style, but shorter heel)

This Christian Dior jacket I found thrifting with the tags still on, talk about a good find. It’s from the Chemises line so I believe it is from the year 1957. The jacket is such a cool lightweight material yet very warm, it is 80% Rayon and 20% Metal, yeah Metal! Isn’t that awesome? And completely screams Vintage.[Sidenote:We had to go through metal detecting before the Britney Show and I was so nervous it would go bizerk-I passed!]

Because the jacket is so flashy, black was the perfect backdrop to showcase it off. Because the jacket was so light, a heavier material for the top would look best, so I chose a velvet tank from Express. I really love the cut of the top, it was flattering without showing too much and I love the subtle peplum bottom. For pants I stuck to cotton blend stretchy black from Cache. I was also debating between leather, because I thought that would look really good, but the only pair of leather pants I had were way too hot. This was also the perfect occasion to wear my Josephine shoes from Italy for the first time. These shoes are seriously amazing and have become my favorite pair of heels I own. Because I had red nails and lips I thought my new Rebecca Minkoff clutch would go great. It gave a pop of color while still letting the jacket be the center of attention. I think I would wear this outfit every weekend if I could!

Screen Shot 2014-01-07 at 8.08.35 PMScreen Shot 2014-01-07 at 6.59.13 PMScreen Shot 2014-01-07 at 7.01.49 PMScreen Shot 2014-01-08 at 2.37.59 PMScreen Shot 2014-01-08 at 2.45.40 PM

(The jacket above^ is from BeyondRetro . Although I’m a huge fan of going thrifting to find vintage, it is a pretty cool site.)

A special thanks to COLOR Salon at Caesars Palace for my new haircut & makeup! If you find yourself in Vegas in need of some pampering I highly recommend it! The makeup they used on me is Kevyn Aucoin, and ironically Hautelook is having a sale on his stuff through tomorrow! I bought the DewDrop Creme To Powder Foundation & lipstick but loved all of his products!

photo

4 thoughts on “Show Me The Gold

Leave a Reply

