Garden State Of Mind

IMG_4945copy copy

Walking into our home for the first time, we were abruptly blinded by yellow hydrangea wallpaper that covered the tall walls of the dining room and continued up the main staircase. We appreciated the boldness but knew it was definitely not for us. As we begin finalizing decorating decisions, I realize I am going to miss the bright busy floral wallpaper that has begun to feel like home;that gives me a sunny morning greeting or brightens up the dullest of days-but then again, I won’t miss it that much.

I came across this yellow flowered blouse the other day and knew I had to have it. I am a huge fan of the movie Garden State and wanted to seize the opportunity to match my wallpaper before it was gone.

IMG_4944 copy

IMG_4947 copy

IMG_5010 copy

IMG_5034

Screen Shot 2014-03-06 at 4.19.00 PM

IMG_4859 copy

IMG_5038(Sign left by the previous owners for us. Not only is it perfectly fitting, but I also happen to be a big Oscar Wilde fan)

Rose & Olive Top, Top Shop Jeans, Charles Jourdan Shoes

Floral prints are very versatile. They can be dressed up or down, preppy or bohemian, young or old. I chose to do a casual day to night look. Since the top is flowy and not the most flattering fit, I paired it with a tight skinny jean and heels. This helps to elongate my body and make up for looking boxy on top. A colored heel could have been fun, like a hot pink or dark blue-but I stuck to nude to make my necklace the sole pop of color. I chose this long green pendant to help break up the busy pattern and add some contrast up top. I am happy to say I have now matched my wallpaper, & looked chic while doing so.

Screen Shot 2014-03-06 at 4.26.41 PMScreen Shot 2014-02-18 at 2.23.02 PMScreen Shot 2014-03-06 at 4.32.17 PMScreen Shot 2014-03-06 at 4.34.12 PM

2 thoughts on “Garden State Of Mind

Leave a Reply

