Trading In Stars for Floral

IMG_8125 copy

There are more creative ways to rock Red White & Blue this holiday than your standard Stars & Stripes. Although those patterns are fun and patriotic, you can make your 4th of July style more sophisticated & edgy. One way to do this is by trying different prints in this color scheme. I happened to fall in love with this blue floral print from H&M. It comes in a few items including these shorts & a dress from my last post (see here), not to mention they were only $12.95!

I chose to pair the shorts with a bold black & white striped top (also from H&M) that screams summer and will be a very versatile piece in my wardrobe. To incorporate some red I went for a bold lip with my all time favorite lipstick, 99 Pirate by Chanel. For shoes I chose a neutral mule that adds some summer sass. I just picked these mules up at DSW for $21! They’re still listed online at full price, so be sure to check out your local DSW sales. For jewelry I steered clear of the bold colors as well, keeping it neutral, this helps my shorts & lips do all the talking.

IMG_8036 copy

IMG_8153 copy

IMG_8173 copy

IMG_8198 copy

IMG_8010 copy

IMG_8188 copy

IMG_8191 copy

(Isn’t Barkley the cutest accessory?)

H&M Top, H&M Shorts, Report Signature Shoes, Chanel Lipstick

Another beauty tip for this weekend is my low pony tail. I am obsessed with pony tails. They are perfect for looking put together in the summer heat. For this style I smooth the top of my hair out, but leave the bottom curled (curl your hair if it isn’t natural). Then pull your hair back leaving out a chunk of bang and tie securely. Once tied, take a strand from the bottom of your pony tail and wrap it around where your hair tie is, securely bobby pin the end of the strand and spray with hair spray. The look should last all day/night!

Screen Shot 2014-07-02 at 1.26.37 PMScreen Shot 2014-07-02 at 1.29.16 PMScreen Shot 2014-07-02 at 1.41.38 PM

 

 

2 thoughts on “Trading In Stars for Floral

  1. I love your take on the holiday, especially that cute top. That cutout is so darling! I’m aiming for a bit more subtle approach tomorrow too, but we’ll have to see… I may end up going overboard!

Leave a Reply

